Comments from guests who have stayed at Kenmare Fáilte Hostel:

5 of 5 starsReviewed 26 May 2014

Loved my stay there. Good value.Very clean. Comfy beds.Very cozy common rooms with a fireplace.Within minutes walk from everywhere in town.Not for party animals.Great if you want to relax.Sweet and hospitable host/owner,helped me dry my wet clothes after a long hike & also got me lots of info re local activities etc.Her warmth made my stay.Thank you!

5 of 5 starsReviewed 19 May 2014

A family run hostel. Very welcoming and friendly staff. The kitchen is authentic irish country style. The facilities were spotless. Parking is an issue here. Notices around including rules could be worded a bit better. All in all I would recommend this place. It was secure and well run.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
_______________________________________________________________________________________
5 of 5 starsReviewed 27 November 2013

Thank you so much for making such a welcoming home- for this is what it feels like, much less a hostel. I loved the kitchen where people naturally met each other, and me and my friend met so many interesting and lovely people through staying at this place. Just missed a cat by the aga and I could have imagined I was at home! And the location is excellent, Kenmare is a great place to experience the culture of the pub life complete with music in just about every pub in town! And the hostel is within a short walk of all of them!! The countryside around is just amazing too. Definitely the place I remember with great fondness as I look back on my Ireland holiday.

Room Tip: The ones at the front of the hostel have a great view down the street of quaint Kenmare

See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends

“Best hostel I’ve ever stayed in”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 31 July 2013 NEW

This independent hostel in Kenmare town is clean, organised, homely and spacious – all in one. The owner is friendly and welcoming. I especially liked the different eating areas so that we were not intruding on other guests when we ate our fish and chips, noisily, after a lovely day’s cycling. The hostel has bike parking, albeit uncovered and the other facilities leave nothing to be desired.

We had a four-person room and it was very spacious – most hostels would have fitted four more beds in that room.

Room Tip: As well as dorms there is a range of private rooms.

“cozy, friendly hostel – highly recommended”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 7 May 2013

There were around 15 of us (university students) who visited, and they were incredibly accommodating here and made us feel very welcome to Kenmare. They gave us some great tips on where to go and made sure that we felt at home. The hostel itself is located in a perfect spot, right on a corner of one of the main streets in Kenmare, and it has a really cozy feel, with a kitchen and a living room with a fireplace. Everything was very clean and classy, and we had an amazing stay here. HIGHLY recommended – stay here if you have the chance!

“friendly, affordable and clean hostel”

4 of 5 starsReviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed at this hostel with UCC Choral Society and my choir from 30th November to 2nd December 2012. We found this hostel to be affordable, clean and the staff were freindly and accessible. The facilities, such as the kitchen were perfect for our needs. The rooms are beautiful, rustic and traditionally Irish. The hostel also has a great location as we were situated in the middle of the town. I would definitely reccommend this hostel to anybody who wants to stay in Kenmare.

Very friendly family run hostel – would definitely recommend
This is a very friendly family run hostel, we found all the staff very helpful and friendly. The kitchen had excellent facilities. The rooms were clean, and provided good value for money. would definitely recommend this hostel. The hostel is on the corner of the main street, perfect for shops and restaurants, and only a few minutes walk down to the jetty/sea.

Absolute top hostel in Ireland (August 2012)
We’ve been there last week with a Scout group without reservation and have been welcome extremly warm. We got every help we need in a case of illness and are highly exalted about staying in this hostel. Compared with other hostels in Ireland a first class hostel.
Thanks a lot for all we expirienced while beeing in your hostel. Your kindness, flexibility and support are commendable
Your german Scout group

“Great place to stay in Kenmare!”
Great hostess, a great place to stay, and affordable too! Close to town and park. Maureen was fantastic and a helpful source of information for exploring Kenmare. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you!

_____________________________________________________________________

  • 100% Great hostel. Beautifully laid-out building. Good kitchen and a common. Very friendly staff. Top marks.
  • Everything is well organized and kept clean and tidy at all times. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean as well. The place is quiet and very well situated in the colorful town of Kenmare. You can’t be disappointed by FAILTE HOSTEL.

“Great hostel in a great location”

4 of 5 starsReviewed 9 August 2012

This is my fourth time staying here. Kenmare is a great base for discovering the beara peninsula, walking the Kerry way or cycling. The hostel is very clean, its right beside the centre of the town but not too close that it gets very noisy.

Its one of the few hostels I’ve stayed in where I’ve managed to have a hot shower any time day or night. The kitchen is big and spacious, I didn’t really make much use of it as I preferred to try out the local restaurants and cafes as there are lots to choose from in Kenmare.

Overall I enjoyed the stay in this hostel as you pretty much come and go as you please, and its all very relaxing. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. The hostel gets a wide mix of guests staying from young and old to families. Its wise to book ahead as it seems to get booked up on weekends.

Its good if you don’t want to spend a lot of money on accommodation.